Hay, Not Even Once

Today I made a huge accomplishment. I vacuumed my car! As I’m sure many of you boarders and commuters will understand, the equestrian vehicle is a magical sanctum that takes most of the barn to the horse. It contains useful everyday items like grooming and first aid kits, saddle blankets, and multiple assorted snaffle bits (several of which are completely unfamiliar). It also absorbs as many hoof picks as possible and millions of empty supplement buckets and spray bottles that you’re sure you are going to need at some point for some homemade fly spray or thrush remedy.

I’ve been dreading this task, but I finally buckled down and cleared out the car. On the bright side, I found my old leather half chaps and gloves (both of which need some minor repairs, then they will be great back up) and my Dee Ring snaffle, which was my very first bit.

Part of my purpose for writing this is as a public service announcement. Compromise is never the answer! Not in horse ownership, not in riding, and not in keeping your car tidy. The cardinal sin for car sullying: putting hay anywhere in your car. I spent all of last winter hauling hay one bale at a time in my trunk—a practice both inconvenient and smelly. Even after hours of sweaty vacuuming with half my body in the trunk and half flailing out, there are still musty remnants of hay.

IMG_0436

IMG_0446 BEFORE AND AFTER

Now I have rules for myself (goody, now the will power kicks in!). Business in the front seats, tack room in the back. I vow to never again try to haul hay in my car. The trunk is for human use only (  Human belongings. Like luggage…). All horse related items have to stay in the back seats. The front seats have to stay clear and up to the cleanliness and aromatic standards of non-horsey folk (ie, people can ride in my car without a. brushing off the seat, or b. complaining of foul odors). I febreezed the living daylights out of the car after I vacuumed it and I am looking for the perfect car air freshener. I like “new leather” scents, but I have yet to find a freshener that can capture the gorgeous smell of a new bridle or boots. In a perfect world, there would be a line of air fresheners for the equestrian. I’m thinking New Tack Scent, Cedar Shavings, and Sweet Feed to start with. And if someone could create something that smelled like Horses, that would be great. Not horse sweat and not the good smelling stuff we put on them like Showsheen or Cowboy Magic, but the pure horse essence, the kind that you can smell only when you lean up against your horse’s neck and burrow your face into their coat.  I would stock up on that stuff.

3 comments

  1. EquiPepper · July 12, 2015

    I am terrible for filling my car with horse related junk! My boot is currently my second tack room. Which I don’t have a problem with at all. But my non-horsey family always complain about the smell…

    Like

    • needforsteed · July 12, 2015

      I’m glad I’m not the only one! You never know what you’ll need each day though.

      Liked by 1 person

      • EquiPepper · July 13, 2015

        Exactly! Especially when I’m up early to get ready for a show. I can be sure that everything I need is in the car… somewhere… aha

        Like

Leave a Reply

