Slowing Down

Hi everyone! Sorry for the radio silence recently. I’ve been busy busy busy. So busy that I haven’t been able to do much “serious” riding. I had one lesson in the past month and that is the best I could do lesson-wise. Other than that, it’s been short hacks in the pasture and the occasional jaunt up and down the road. I’ve been lucky enough to move him down the road to a better location, with access to nicer trails and more riding buddies, but I haven’t been able to take full advantage of them yet.

I’m working three jobs this summer, so any down time I get is usually spent on simple, low energy activities to relax. By the time I get home from work, the sun is starting to go down and the horse flies begin to come out to attack. There’s no time to fully tack him up and get in a good structured ride, so on week days I usually have to choose between a quick bareback ride or ground work. Lately I’ve discovered the fun of “walking the horse.” Just throwing a lead rope and halter on him, and walking down the road, horse on the right and dog on the left. It’s fun because you can still spend time with your hot horse out of the pasture without the pressure of constant vigilance when you ride. Of course, you still have to pay attention, but the stakes don’t seem as high.

IMG_1789

Besides not getting to ride as much (or basically do anything other than work), things have been good. Shiloh is the healthiest he’s been in months, both physically and mentally. The summer grass has done wonders to fill him out and make his coat nice and shiny. And for the first time since mid-winter, Shiloh has real horse buddies to touch and see and run with. He did have intermittent horse neighbors and cows at his old place, but I never want him to be alone like that again.

On the bright side, I’m making bank this summer. I see visions of new horse gear in the near future.

hell

Happy horsing around! May you find joy with your horses this summer, both in the saddle and on the ground.

 

Leave a Reply

